clear space clear space clear space white space
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e
  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search search for:
clear space
white space
Proceedings of the House of Delegates, 1800
Volume 92, Page 2   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  
clear space clear space clear space white space

MONDAY, November 3, 1800.

MONDAY, November the Third, being the day appointed by the constitution and form of government for the
meeting of the legislature of this state, the following members accordingly appeared, viz,
For KENT county,
Mr. Unit Angier,
Mr. James Parker,
Mr. Benjamin Chambers,
Mr. Benjamin Hanson.
Mr. Richard H. Harwood,
Mr. William Dorsey,
CALVERT county.
Mr. William Carcaud,
Mr. Rezin Estep.
CHARLES county,
Mr. Philip Stuart,
Mr. Henry H. Chapman,
Mr. William H. McPherson.
Mr. John T. Worthington,
Mr. Alexis Lemmon,
Mr. Tobias E. Stansbury.
TALBOT county,
Mr. Edward Lloyd.
CÆCIL county,
Mr. John Gilpin,
Mr. Daniel Sheredine,
Mr. William Miller, of Samuel,
Mr. Thomas M. Forman.
Mr. Thomas G. Addison,
Mr. William Marbury.
Mr. Allen Quynn,
Mr. John Johnson.
QUEEN-ANNE'S county,
Mr. Charles Frazier,
Mr. Joseph Thompson,
Mr. Stephen Lowrey.
Mr. Stepehn Purnell.
Mr. David Shriver,
Mr. Thomas Hawkins,
Mr. Roger Nelson,
Mr. Henry Kemp.
HARFORD county,
Mr. John Street,
Mr. Elijah Davis,
Mr. Thomas S. Bond.
Mr. John Montgomery.
Mr. Robert Smith,
Mr. James McCulloch.
Mr. Ambrose Geoghegan,
Mr. Richard Cromwell.
Mr. Robert P. Magruder,
Mr. Thomas Davis,
Mr. Thomas Beall, of George.
ALLEGANY county,
Mr. Peter Gebhart.
    A sufficient number of delegates being convened, they severally qualified in the presence of each other, by
taking the several oaths required by the constitution and form of government, subscribing a declaration of their
belief in the Christian religion, and by taking, repeating and subscribing, the oath to support the constitution of
the United States.

The house adjourns till to-morrow morning 9 o'clock.

TUESDAY, November 4, 1800.

    THE house met.  Present the same members as on yesterday.  The proceedings of yesterday were read.
Mr. John Leigh, Mr. Raphael Neale and Mr. Enoch J. Millard, delegates returned for Saint-Mary's county,
Mr. Edward Hall and Mr. John F. Mercer, delegates returned for Anne-Arundel county, Mr. Thomas Parran
and Mr. THomas Blake, delegates returned for Calvert county, Mr. Samuel Jones, a delegate returned for
Charles county, Mr. Thomas Love, a delegate returned for Baltimore county, Mr. Thomas S. Denny and Mr.
John Edmondson, delegates returned for Talbot county, Mr. Solomon Frazier, Mr. Isaac Steele and Mr. Richard
Goldsborough, delegates returned for Dorchester County, Mr. Richard Cramphin, a delegate returned for Worcester county,
Mr. Robert Orrell and Mr. Philip Clarke, delegates retrurned for Caroline county, Mr. John Cellar and Mr. Robert
Smith, delegates returned for Washington county, Mr. Joseph Cresap, Mr. James Cresap, of Michael, and
Mr. John Simkins, delegates returned for Allegany county, and Mr. Hezekiah Veach, a delegate returned for
Montgomery County, appeared, and after qualifying in the mode prescribed by the constitution and form of government,
and taking the oath to support the constitution of the United States, took their seat in the house.
    The house proceeded to ballot for a speaker, and the ballots being deposited in the ballot box, the gentlemen
named to strike retired, and after some time returned and reported, that Edward Hall, Esquire, was unanimously


clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Proceedings of the House of Delegates, 1800
Volume 92, Page 2   View pdf image (33K)
 Jump to  

This web site is presented for reference purposes under the doctrine of fair use. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: The site may contain material from other sources which may be under copyright. Rights assessment, and full originating source citation, is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact

©Copyright  August 02, 2018
Maryland State Archives