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The Bureau of Control Surveys and Maps, established by the
General Assembly of 1939 but inactive during World War II, was
reactivated by the State Roads Commission in 1951. This Bureau
is directed by an advisory board consisting of the Chief Engineer
of the State Roads Commission, the Director of the Maryland State
Planning Commission, the Director of the Department of Publie
Improvements, the Director of the Department of Geology, Mines and
Water Resources, and the Dean of the College of Engineering of the
University of Maryland. The agency coordinates the activities of
the various agencies engaged in mapping and surveying in the State;
promotes the use of the Maryland Plane Coordinate System for
engineering projects; through field observations, extends the control
network for use in highway surveys; and maintains a complete file of
control, both horizontal and vertical, available throughout the State.
(Code 1951, Art. 91, secs. 30-33). The funds for the operation of the
Bureau are provided in the budget of the State Roads Commission.
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The Office of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles was established
by the Acts of 1910. The Commissioner, who is appointed by the
Governor and confirmed by the Senate for a four-year term, serves
as the Director of the Department.

The Department issues all drivers’ licenses in the State, and ap-
plicants are required to pass an eye test, written examination of the
Motor Vehicle Laws of Maryland, and a driving test. These examina-
tions are conducted in Baltimore City and in twenty-three other cities
and towns throughout the State. The Department titles and registers
motor vehicles. It must issue a title before license plates. The De-
partment collects an excise tax of two per cent of the fair value of
the vehicle for each title issued. All commercial vehicles operating
for hire within the State must file with the Department a certificate
of Financial Responsibility Insurance in the amounts of $10,000,
$20,000, and $5,000 and obtain a gratis permit to be carried with the
vehicle at all times. All persons involved in accidents resulting in
personal injuries or any property damage in excess of $75.00 must file
a report with the Department and comply with the provisions of the
Financial Responsibility Law. All persons who fail to pay judg-
IEents in excess of $25.00 are subject to the Financial Responsibility

aw.

The Department maintains a record of each individual driver who
has been convicted of violating the motor vehicle laws. It conducts
hearings to determine whether or not the driver’s license should be
suspended or revoked as a result of a motor vehicle convicetion; if he
is proved physically or mentally unfit to drive, his case comes before
the Department’s Medical Advisory Board for final decision. He may
appeal to the Courts from the decision of the Commissioner, except
in those cases where the revoecation is mandatory.

All fees collected for the registration and titling of motor vehicles
and all fines collected are deposited by the Department to the eredit
of the Motor Vehicles Revenue Fund (Code 1951, Art. 663, secs.



