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tory of the United States and Maryland, community civies,
hygiene and sanitation, agriculture, the theory and practice of
teaching, and such other subjects as may be required by the
State Board of Education. Provided that no applicant shall
be granted such a certificate who has not completed at least
six weeks of professional preparation in a standard institu-
tion, nor shall such certificate be issued to any person under
eighteen years of age. Provided, that this certificate may be
renewed for a period of two yvears on evidence of successtul
experience and professional spirit and completion of not less
than six weeks of additional academic and professional prepa-
ration in a standard institution. Provided further, that this
certificate may be renewed for a second time for a period of
three vears, next succeeding or otherwise, on evidence of suec-
cessful experience and professional spirit and completion of an
additional six weeks of academic and professional preparation
in a standard institution, and so on for an indefinite number
of three-vear periods, successive or otherwise; but this certifi-
cate mayv not be 1ssued a second time to the same person on
examination.

11. County superintendents of schools may, with the ap-
proval of the State Superintendent of Schools, in cases of emer-
gency, 1ssue provisional certificates of the different kinds and
grades, but a provisional certificate shall be valid only until
the next State examination, and a provisional certificate may
not be renewed unless such renewal i1s approved by the State
Superintendent of Schools.

- 60. No white teacher regularly employed in a public school
of the State of Maryland shall receive a salary of less than
s1x hundred dollars ($600) per school vear. Provided, if such
teacher holds a third grade certificate of the first class and has
taught in the public schools of the State of Maryland for a
period of three years, such teacher shall receive a salary of not
less than six hundred and fifty dollars ($650) per school year.

No white teacher regularly emploved in a public school of
the State of Maryland, holding a second grade certificate, shall
receive a salary of less than seven hundred and fiftv dollars
($750) per school vear. Provided, if such a teacher holds a
second grade certificate of the first class and has taught in
the public schools of the State of Marvland for a period of
three years, such teacher shall receive a salary of not less than
eight hundred dollars ($800) per school vear. Provided, if
such teacher holds a second grade certificate of the first class



