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MINE THE ALCOHOLIC CONTENT OF HIS BLOOD, BREATH,
OR URINE.

(b) In return for the privilege of operating a motor vekicle on
the highways of this State given to a nonresident under this Article,
any nonresident who operates or attempts to operate a motor
vehicle upon the highways of this State, shall be deemed to have
given consent to take a chemical test for alcohol. Anmy wunlicensed
person who operates or attempts to operate a motor vehicle upon
the highways of this State shall be deemed to have given consent to
take a chemical test for alcohol. Such monresident or unlicensed
person shall not be compelled to take such chemical test for alcohol
but shall be advised that his refusal is an abuse of the privilege
granted by the State to operate on the highways thereof and the
Department of Motor Vehicles may suspend said privilege for a
period not to exceed 60 days upon receipt of the sworn statement
from the officer that said nonresident was so charged and refused
to submit to take a chemical test for alcohol.

(¢) It shall be the duly of any police officer who stops or detains
any person who he has reasonable grounds to believe is or has been
operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle under the in-
fluence of alcohol, or who is or has been operating or attempting
to operate a motor vehicle while his ability was impaired by the
consumption of alcohol to do all the following things:

1. Detain such person.

2. Request that he take a chemical test or tests of his blood,
breath or urine, for the purpose of determining the alcoholic content
of his blood, to be administered by a person examined and certified
as sufficiently equipped and trained to administer such tests by the
Department of Maryland State Police, which is authorized to pro-
mulgate rules and regulations for the examination and certification,
if detained by a member of the Department of Maryland State Police
or by a member of a local police agency which has a member examined
and certified to administer the tests.

8. Adwvise the person of the administrative penalties that may be
imposed for such refusal.

4. File with the Department of Motor Vehicles within 48 hours
after such detention, a sworn report that he had reasonable grounds
to believe that said person had been operating or attempting to
operate a motor vehicle upon the highways of this State while
under the influence of alcohol, or that said person operated or
attempted to operate a motor vehicle upon the highways of this State,
while his ability was impaired by the consumption of alcohol and
that said person refused to take the chemical test for alcohol, upon
the request of the police officer and after having been informed of
the administrative penalties that may be imposed for said refusal.

{d) Upon receipt of the sworn statement of the police officer
filed in compliance with Subsection (¢) above, the Department shall
give notice to the detained person in accordance with Section 21 of
this Article, to attend a hearing within % 15 days of the person’s
refusal to take a chemical test to determine the alcoholic content of
his blood, breath or urine, the purpose of said hearing being to show
cause why the detained person’s license should not be suspended
for refusing to take said chemical test. Said hearing shall be held




