52 LAWS OF MARYLAND Ch. 35

[{{ SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That naw
Section 143(a) be and it is hereby added to Article 2B -
Alcoholic Beverages, of the Annotated Code of Maryland
(1968 Replacement Vclume and 1975 Sugplement) to read as
follows: 11

Article 2B - Alcoholic Beverages
143,

[ @ IN ALLEGANY COUNTY, A RETAIL LICENSE WHICH
HAS BEEN REFUSED, SUSPENDED, OR REVOKED AFTER JULY 1,
1976, MAY NOT BE GRANTED UNTIL THE APPLICANT HAS EXECUTED
AR BOND TO THE STATE OF MARYLAND IN THE PENAL SUM OF
$1,000, WITH TWO SUFFICIENT SURETIES TO BE APPROVED BY
THE CLERK OF THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR ALLEGANY COUNTY. THE
BOND SHALL BE CONDITIONED FOR THE FAITHFUL OBSERVANCE OF
ALL LAWS OF THIS STATE RELATING TO THE SALE OF ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGES AND THE PAYMENT OF ALL COSTS, FINES, AND
PENALTIES THAT MAY BE IMPOSED ON THE APPLICANT IN ANY
WARRANT OR INDICTMENT FOR VIOLATION OF THIS ARTICLE OR
ANY OTHBER LAW RELATING TO THE SALE OR FURNISHING OF
ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES IN ALLEGANY COUNTY. THE BOND, WHEN
APPROVED, SHALL BE DEPOSITED WITH THE CLERK OF THE
CIRCUIT COURT FOR ALIEGANY COUNTY WHO SHALL RECORD THE
BOND IN A BOOK KEPT BY HIM FOR THAT PURPOSE. THE RECORD
OF THE BOND, OR A CERTIFIED COPY OF THE RECORD, SHALL BE
EVIDENCE IN ANY COURT OF LAW.1])

{(a) In Allegany County no license shall be issued
to any person_ or persons until such perscn _or persons
shall have executed a bond to the State of Maryland in
the penal sum of $1,000.00 with two sufficient sureties
to be approved by the clerk of the Circuit Court for
Allegany County, conditioned for the faithful observance
of all the laws of this State relating to the sale or
furnishing of alcoholic_beverages, and to pay all costs,
fines, and penalties, which may be imposed upon him or
them on any warrant or indictment for violation of this
article or any other act of assembly relating to selling
or furnishing intoxicating beverages as aforesaid, and
the said bond when so approved shall be deposited with
said _clerk, who shall record the same in_a book to be
kept by him for that purpose, and said clerk shall be
entitled to a fee of fifty cents therefor to be paid by
the applicant for such license, and the record thereof,
or duly certified copy, shall be evidence in_any court of
law; but no person shall be accepted as a surety on any
such bond who 1is interested in or engaged in the
manufacture or sale of alcholic beverages and no person
shall be accepted as surety on more than one bond in any
one _year, providad further that any surety company duly
organized may act as sole surety upon the license bond or
license bonds required by this article, and such bonds
shall be approved by the clerk of the Circuit Court for
Allegqany County in the same manner as if there were two
persons sureties thereon.]




