H.B. 435 VETOES

(1) 2 cents for a beer container of 12 ounces or less or 0.3549 liters or
less;

(2) 3 cents for a beer container of more than 12 ounces or 0.3549 liters
but not more than 23 ounces or 0.6802 liters;

(3) 4 cents for a beer container of more than 23 ounces or 0.6802 liters
but not more than 31 ounces or 0.9168 liters; -

(4) 6 cents for a beer container of more than 31 ounces or 0.9168 liters
but not more than 40 ounces or 1.183 liters; and

(5) 7 cents for a gallon or fraction of a gallon for a beer container of more
than 40 ounces or 1.183 liters.]

[(e)]1 (D) The tax imposed under § 5-102(b) of this subtitle shall equal the
amount that the discriminating Jurlsdlctlon charges a Maryland licensee or permit
holder.

[5-304.

(a) A person who sells or delivers beer into Garrett Coﬁnty shall pay the
Garrett County beer tax authorized under § 5-102(c)}(1)(ii) of this title:

(1) to the county liquor control board before the person sells or delivers
the beer for consumption in the county; and

(2) by a method other than by tax stamps and in the manner that the
county liquor control board requires.

(b) Garrett County shall use the Garrett County beer tax revenue for general
county purposes.]

[13-1028.

A person who is required to pay the Garrett County beer tax and who willfully
fails to pay the tax as required under § 5-304 of this article is guilty of a misdemeanor
and, on conviction, is subject to a fine not exceeding $5,000 or imprisonment not
exceeding 1 year or both.]

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect
July 1, 2006.

May 26, 2006

The Honorable Michael E. Busch
Speaker of the House

State House

Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Mr. Speaker:
In accordance with Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, today I have
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