clear space clear space clear space white space
A
 r c h i v e s   o f   M a r y l a n d   O n l i n e
  Maryland State Archives | Index | Help | Search search for:
clear space
white space
Session Laws, 1994
Volume 773, Page 3542   View pdf image
 Jump to  
  << PREVIOUS  NEXT >>
clear space clear space clear space white space

S.B. 336

VETOES

(a)      Except as otherwise provided in this section, an individual shall be licensed by
the Board before the individual may practice as a nursing home administrator in this
State.

(b)      (1) [If] EXCEPT AS PROVIDED IN PARAGRAPH (2) OF THIS SUBSECTION,
IF a licensee leaves or is removed from a position as a nursing home administrator by
death or for any other unexpected cause, the owner of the nursing home or other
appropriate nursing home authority [may designate an acting nursing home
administrator, who may serve in that capacity without a license for not more than 90
days] SHALL IMMEDIATELY DESIGNATE A LICENSED NURSING HOME
ADMINISTRATOR TO SERVE IN THAT CAPACITY.

    (2) (I) IN THE EVENT A LICENSED NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR IS
NOT AVAILABLE, THE OWNER OR OTHER APPROPRIATE NURSING HOME
AUTHORITY MAY APPOINT A NONLICENSED PERSON TO SERVE IN THE CAPACITY OF
ACTING NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR FOR A PERIOD NOT TO EXCEED 90 DAYS.

                          (II) THE OWNER OR OTHER APPROPRIATE NURSING HOME

AUTHORITY SHALL IMMEDIATELY NOTIFY THE BOARD OF THE APPOINTMENT AND
FORWARD THE CREDENTIALS OF THE PERSON APPOINTED TO THE BOARD FOR
EVALUATION TO ASSURE THAT THE PERSON APPOINTED IS EXPERIENCED,
TRAINED, AND COMPETENT.

[(2)] (III) The 90-day period begins on the date that the licensee leaves or is
removed from the position as a nursing home administrator.

[(3)] (IV) The Board may extend the 90-day period for a further period of
not more than 30 days.

9-302.

         (a) To qualify for a license, an applicant shall be an individual who meets the
requirements, of this section.

(b)     The applicant shall be of good moral character.

(c)      The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.

(d)     (1) The applicant shall:

(i) 1. Have a baccalaureate or masters degree in health care
administration from an accredited college or university; or

2. A. Have a baccalaureate or masters degree in a field other
than health care administration from an accredited college or university; and

B. Have satisfactorily completed a minimum of 100 hours in a
course of study in health care administration [, or its equivalent,] approved by the Board;
and

(ii) 1. Have completed an administrator-in-training program
approved by the Board; or

- 3542 -

 

clear space
clear space
white space

Please view image to verify text. To report an error, please contact us.
Session Laws, 1994
Volume 773, Page 3542   View pdf image
 Jump to  
  << PREVIOUS  NEXT >>


This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

An Archives of Maryland electronic publication.
For information contact mdlegal@mdarchives.state.md.us.

©Copyright  October 31, 2014
Maryland State Archives