Ch.5 2003 LAWS OF MARYLAND

(3) IN HARFORD COUNTY A PERSON WHO VIOLATES THIS SUBSECTION
IS GUILTY OF A MISDEMEANOR AND ON CONVICTION IS SUBJECT TO A FINE OF NOT
LESS THAN $25 AND NOT EXCEEDING $250.

(¢) In Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Charles, Garrett,
Frederick, Wicomico, Somerset, Howard, or Worcester counties, a person may not
enter or trespass upon land owned by another person for the purpose of hunting deer
on the land with gun, rifle, bow and arrow, or any other means without first securing
the written permission of the landowner or the landowner’s agent or lessee. Any
person hunting deer on land owned by another person shall exhibit written
permission upon the request of any Natural Resources police officer, any law
enforcement officer, the landowner, or the landowner’s agent or lessee. The Natural
Resources police officer or any law enforcemeént officer shall arrest any person
hunting without written permission upon the request of the landowner or the
landowner’s agent or lessee.

(d) (1) In Anne Arundel, Caroline, Carroll, Cecil, Frederick, Howard, Kent,
Prince George’s, Queen Anne’s, Talbot, and Washington counties, a person who hunts
with a gun or other weapon upon the lands of another without first obtaining written
permission from the owner or possessor of the land is guilty of a misdemeanor, and
upon conviction of a first offense is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000. Upon
conviction of a second or subsequent offense, the person is subject to a fine not
exceeding $2,000.

(2) IN ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY AND CAROLINE COUNTY A PERSON WHO
FAILS TO PAY A FINE IMPOSED UNDER THIS SUBSECTION IS SUBJECT TO FURTHER
PROCEEDINGS IN ACCORDANCE WITH ARTICLE 38, § 4 OF THE CODE.

REVISOR’S NOTE: Chapter 5, Acts of 2003, which enacted the Public Safety
Article, also amended this section to revise without substantive change
former Art. 27, § 268D and, except as it related to target practice or
discharging a gun or weapon, § 268B.

The balance of former Art. 27, § 268B is revised in § 4-108 of the Criminal
Law Article.

SECTION 4. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That Section(s) 64 through 69,
respectively, and the subtitle “State Aid for Police Protection Fund” of Article 88B —
Department of State Police of the Annotated Code of Maryland be repealed and
reenacted, with amendments, and transferred to be Section(s) 4-401 through 4-406,
respectively, and the subtitle “Subtitle 4. State Aid for Police Protection Fund” of
Article 41 — Governor — Executive and Administrative Departments of the Annotated
Code of Maryland, to read as follows:




